President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reopening of four additional land border

The reopening of four more land crossings has been approved by President Muhammadu Buhari. 
Idiroko in Ogun, Jibiya in Katsina, Kamba in Kebbi, and Ikom in Cross River are the borders.


President Buhari ordered the closing of land borders in August 2019 as part of measures to combat the illegal entry of drugs, small guns, and agricultural products into Nigeria from neighboring West African countries.


President Muhammadu Buhari ordered the reopening of borders in Seme, Lagos, Illela, Sokoto, Maigatari, Jigawa, and Mfum, Cross River in 2020.


The President has given an order for the reopening of the borders, according to memo provided by the NCS deputy comptroller-general, E. I. Edorhe, on April 22.


“Sequel to the presidential directive dated 16 December, 2020, granting approval for phased reopening of land borders namely; Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders across the country, I am directed to inform you that four additional borders listed below have been approved for re-opening: Idiroko border post, Ogun state (south-west zone); Jibiya border post, Katsina (north-west zone); Kamba border post, Kebbi state (north-west zone); and Ikom border post, Cross River state (south-south zone),” the memo reads.

Consequently, all customs formations and JBPTs are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines.”the memo read in part

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *